Monday, 29 February 2016

Cardiac Staff Matters 29/02/16

1. The Canadian Council of Cardiovascular Nurses (CCCN) represents the largest group of Canadian nurses practicing within the cardiovascular field and is proudly associated with the Canadian Nurses Association, the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada, and the Canadian Cardiovascular Society. If you are interested in more information about CCCN, please check us out at or contact a Manitoba chapter executive at

The Manitoba Chapter of CCCN has just started a quarterly journal club, which is open to all. The first meeting on February 8 was well attended and the next meeting will be in May. For further details contact or We'd love to have you join us!

2. From Friday, Feb 12 to Sunday, Feb 14, 2016, the Adult Cardiology residents at the University of Manitoba participated in the annual Western Cardiology Residents Education Program (WECREEP) conference in Calgary. WECREEP is a conference where all of the Adult Cardiology trainees in Western Canada (including those from UBC, U of Alberta, U of Calgary, U of Saskatchewan, and U of Manitoba) meet on an annual basis. The U of M trainees took first place in the Academic Jeopardy competition at WECREEP showcasing their academic and trivia knowledge!

3. Congratulations to: Lorraine J. Avery, Andrea Szwajcer, Shelley Zieroth, Bev Temple, Jo-Ann V. Sawatzky for their recent publication entitled: Caregiver experiences of providing care to adult individuals living with a left ventricular assist device: a qualitative systematic review protocol. Published in: JBISRIR Vol 14, No. 1 (2016) pp 44-54. Take a look at the publication here:

4. The Manitoba Medical Students' Association honours physician teachers each year with a number of awards. The MMSA 2014/15 Teaching Awards were announced recently, and a big congratulations goes to Dr. Anita Soni, who received an award for Best Course for the Med I Cardiovascular course. A number of other cardiologists were nominated for awards as well, and we want to congratulate them on being recognized in this way for their teaching:

Dr. Colette Seifer - nominated for Med III Attending Clinical Teaching, Mentorship, Patient Advocacy and Professionalism.

Dr. Anita Soni - nominated for Med I Awards for Innovation, Inspiration and Mentorship as well as Med II Award for Innovation and Inspiration

Dr. Clarence Khoo - nominated for Med I ¡V Best Small Group, Innovation and Inspiration

Dr. Thang Nguyen - nominated for Med I - Best Small Group

Dr. Davinder Jassal - nominated for Med I ¡V Mentorship

Dr. Amir Ravandi - nominated for Med I ¡V Best Small Group

5. February is Heart Month¡Kthe Winnipeg Free Press published an article that showcased the success of the Cardiac Sciences Program's Code STEMI procedure. Read the article here:

6. HSC's display to celebrate Cardiology Technology day (pictured: Kathryn Hurtig and Gary Trepanier).